top of page

Game Spotlight: Adventurers!


Even though I am very busy creating and designing my own game material, I am still a gamer who enjoys a good RPG when I find one. There are lots of fantastic games out there that deserve recognition from many talented publishers. Today I take a look at a game that I enjoy quite thoroughly called "Adventurers!" published by GRAmel, written by Umberto Pignatelli and Andy Slack.

It's no secret that I prefer my games to be lite and simple, focusing more on the narrative. So when I discovered this lite game, a player's guide, and Gamemaster's guide, each only being 2 pages (easily printed on one sheet of paper) I was intrigued. I was even more excited when I realized that the core game is completely free.

Upon looking over the game, I was impressed by the sleek design of the rules that have an "old school" feel with a few modern ideas and mechanics. The task resolution is simple; characters roll 2 six-sided dice and add 1 of three relevant stats (Strength, Agility, or Mind). If the total is equal to a 7 or higher, the character is successful at their action. A Gamemaster can introduce a penalty to the roll if a task is difficult as well, usually a -2 or -4.

There is a short list of skills as well, which essentially function as basic character abilities, allowing for further customization. Each skill can be learned as a Basic or Advanced skill, the Advanced version granting a significant advantage when a character performs actions pertaining to the skill. There is also a list of equipment and optional rules (including races).

Overall, the game is incredibly flexible and well-designed, though admittedly I found the layout to be a little confusing when first looking it over. Quite a lot of material is crammed onto a small amount of space. The main draw of the game, however, are the fantastic mini-settings that GRAmel produces. Each is packed with flavor and shows just how versatile the system is. I found The Dungeon expansion to really add a lot to the game if you want a solid fantasy campaign, including rules to create strongholds.

Each setting is only a few bucks so, they are certainly worth checking out!



Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page