top of page

Setting Kit Musings: Is it Necessary?


Since the release of our newest Setting Kit, Fable Hunters, I have been diligently working on the next one. But I wanted to take a short breather from writing our newest kit to write about a revelation I had while designing our first Kit, Husk: Wrath of the Swarm. Something that I've noticed with these Kits that has been increasingly difficult for me is the challenge of only including what is absolutely necessary. The big problem with cutting material is that I have plenty of good ideas that I would like to see happen but realize that I need to boil down the Setting to its absolute essence as that really is what a Setting Kit should be defined as, the essence of a Setting. If you have a desire to make your own Setting Kit, you absolutely should. It's a lot of fun and in many ways is easier than doing a full-blown Setting. It can be difficult though, as you don't want to bog down players and Gamemasters too much, not if you want to keep it fast and simple. This has led me to always ask myself the following question:

What do they need?

It is crucial to figure out what a Gamemaster and players require to play in the world you’re building. It's a good idea to jot down some of these things on scrap paper or something similar and let the imagination flow at this point but keep in mind that ultimately if it's not necessary, you should cut it. Asking myself this question really made me rethink the product as a whole. You’re not designing a fancy new setting with all the bells and whistles that are common in current gaming culture. Instead, you are placing all of the necessary tools in a plain and simple toolbox and passing it off to gamers. Does the Gamemaster have the wrench she needs? The correct drill bit?

There's nothing wrong with having plenty of larger than life ideas of course. But for this kind of project I have found that it’s essential to realign the way you are viewing the process. Instead of thinking of the countless characters you can create, think of the important key ones, the movers and shakers of the world. Instead of adding 30+ new Edges, perhaps add a few that really fit your Setting concept (I have found these to usually be Professional Edges). This simple realignment of thought has helped me in more ways than I care to count as I go through the steps of creating a Setting Kit. It never hurts to take a step back and ask “is it necessary?”

Blessings and Happy Gaming

Nathan Carmen, head writer and founder of Tricky Troll Games


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page